EVENT: Veronica Stewart Arts Trust Grand Finale

Saturday 21 July 2018

The Veronica Stewart Arts Trust Grand Finale draws together the work of artists who have benefitted from the trust, featuring visual arts, a dazzling aerial performance and the trust’s final commission combining words and music written by two postgraduate students from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.  This piece, inspired by the landscape and people of Wiltshire, will be sung by internationally acclaimed counter tenor Iestyn Davies (pictured), a British countertenor widely recognised as one of the world’s finest singers who is genorously taking time for this event in the midst of his run of Saul at Glyndebourne.  World-renowned cellist Matthew Barley and genre-defying violinist Holly Harman will also be part of this unique celebration drawn together by Frederic Wake-Walker, director of Mahogany Opera in London and fresh from his latest production at Opera National du Rhin in Strasbourg.

Veronica Stewart Arts Trust was established by her family and friends after her early death in 2011, creating an annual award for emerging artists to develop and encourage their creativity and enhance their careers.  Over the past five years (the intended life of the trust), the five art forms which represent Veronica’s eclectic interests, (sculpture, theatre, music, painting, literature) have all received substantial support.

This grand finale is a rare opportunity to experience an evening of imagination and curiosity with our ’emerging artists’ alongside some of the greatest performers of our generation.

Performance artists

  • Frederic Wake-Walker: artistic director
  • Daniel Saleeb: composer
  • Zoe Palmer: writer
  • Iestyn Davies: countertenor
  • Jonas Nordberg: lutes and guitars
  • Liam Byrne: viola da gamba
  • Matthew Barley: cello
  • Holly Harman: violin
  • Thimble theatre: Maia Ayling – actor/aerialist
  • Harriet Riley – percussion
  • Lizzie Watts – production
  • Levi Burrough: dance

Visual artists

  • Laura Ellen Bacon
  • Jay Battle
  • Patricia Low
  • Roger Stephens
  • Steve Neville
  • Mat Dean
  • Frances Fay Davies
  • Charlie Martin
  • John Wilkinson
  • Sally Goodwin

Photo by Ben Ealovega

Related Posts

Leave Your Comment